Alhaji Muhammad Munir Ja’afaru Yariman Zazzau

Alh Mohammed Munir Ja’afaru OFR, mni Yariman Zazzau was born on March 25th, 1956, in Zaria. He attended several educational institutions, and has a wide range of experiences at managerial and leadership levels spanning over 40 years. Alh Munir Ja’afaru was called to the Nigerian Bar in 1980 and was made Member of the National Institute of Policy and Strategic Studies (mni) by NIPSS Kuru in 1991. He is also the recipient of the prestigious National award of the Officer of the Order of the Federal Republic (O.F.R) in 2003.

The schools attended, and qualifications obtained by Alh Munir Ja’afaru include National Institute of Policy and Strategic Studies (NIPSS) Kuru Jos, and became a Member of the National Institute mni in 1991; Ahmadu Bello University Zaria and bagged Master of Law (LI.M) 1983; Nigerian Law School Lagos and qualified as Barrister and Solicitor (B.L) in 1980; Ahmadu Bello University Zaria where he graduated with Bachelor of Law (LI.B. Hons) 1979; College of Arts and Science Zaria for his IJMB certificate in 1976; Government Secondary School Zaria and obtained the WASC in 1973. Alh Munir Ja’afaru obtained his first school leaving certificate after attending L.E.A. Primary School Anchau Takalafia between 1962 to1968.

The working career of Alh Muhammad Munir Ja’afaru Yariman Zazzau started in 1981 at Ahmadu Bello University where he was a Lecturer of Law until 1983. Thereafter, he served as Company Secretary/Legal Adviser for Kaduna Cooperative Bank until 1987. Alh Munir Ja’afaru was appointed the Commissioner for Local Government and Community Development in Kaduna State. He also served as Commissioner for Information, Home Affairs& Culture, as well as Commissioner of Agriculture and Natural Resources. Other positions held by Yariman Zazzau include:

Chairman, State Prerogative for Mercy for Kaduna State; Amirul-Haj for Kaduna State from 1987-1990; Secretary, Nigerian Railway Corporation 1990-1992; Director, Nigerian Hotels Limited 1990-1992;

Director, Kaduna State Property and Development Company 1992-1995; Director, FSB International Bank Plc Lagos 1993-1996; Director, Leasing Company Of Nigeria 1994-1996;

Alh Munir Ja’afaru also served at the National Level as the Director General/Chief Executive, National Maritime Authority, Lagos, Nigeria, from 1992-1996; Chairman, Nigeria Unity Line Abuja 1995- 1996; Chairman, Alliance & General Insurance Company 1995-1998; Chairman, NEM Insurance Plc Lagos 1998-2007; Director, First Atlantic Bank Limited Lagos 2000-2005; Chairman, I.T.C.C. Limited Kaduna 2000-Date; Chairman, National Export Processing Zones Authority, Abuja, 2001 – 2004; President, Kaduna Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture 2001-2005; District Head of Hanwa Zaria, Kaduna State, 2001-2019; Member, Nigerian Investment Promotion Commission Board, 2003-2004; Member, National Political Reform Conference, 2005-2008; Vice-Chairman, Board of Trustees Ahmadu Bello University Endowment Fund, 2005; Director, Transcorp 2006 – 2008; Chairman, Gambo Sawaba Hospital and Dental Care, 2007-2013; Member, Kaduna State Economic Council, 2008-2011; Member, Nigerian Vision 2020, 2009; Member, Federal Government Delegation to Hajj, 2010; Member, Presidential Committee on Prerogative for Mercy, 2011 – 2016; Member, Kaduna State Peace and Reconciliation Committee, 2012; Amirul Hajj, Kaduna State, 2012; Member, Directorate of Advancement, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, 2016; District Head of Basawa, 2018 till date; Chairman, Peugeot Automobile Nigeria Limited (PAN) 2013-2020; Member, Judicial Service Committee, FCT (ISC) 2019-till date; Chairman, National eGovernment Strategies Ltd, 2020 till date. Alh Muhammadu Munir Ja’afaru OFR, mni became the Chairman Advisory Council of Sir Ahmadu Bello Memorial Foundation from January 2020 to date.