Distinguished Service Awards

In recognition of the selfless and exemplary service of individuals to the nation, the Foundation has instituted the annual Sir Ahmadu Bello Memorial Distinguished Service Awards, whereby deserving individuals are selected in an open and transparent manner. Award recipients must have excelled in their chosen fields of human endeavors.

So far the following personalities have received awards from the Foundation:

â–ª Hon Justice Muhammad Lawal Uwais Retired Chief Justice of Nigeria
â–ª Imam Abubakar Abdullahi (who saved non – Muslims during the sectarian crisis in Plateau state)
â–ª Dr Lateef Taiwo Sheikh, Department of Psychiatry Ahmadu Bello University Zaria
▪ Bishop Isaiah Idowu – Fearon, Secretary – General of the Anglican Communion
▪ H. E. Gen Yakubu Gowon PhD, GCFR, former Head of State and Commander – in – Chief Federal Republic of Nigeria 2020
â–ª Hon Justice Fati Lami Abubakar, former First Lady and Chief Judge of Niger state 2020
â–ª Late H.E. Alh Shehu Aliyu Shagari GCFR former President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (Posthumous) 2020
â–ª Late Chief Sunday Folorunsho Awoniyi former associate of the late Premier of Northern region (Posthumous) 2020